So...first week of Amethyst on the shelf. How do I feel? Still paranoid. Oh well, it happens. Canadians will still need to wait a few more days before seeing it on their shelves but it shouldn't be much longer. I know I got mine.
On a related topic, I have started up a facebook fanpage dedicated to Amethyst. You can join it here. I plan on updating it with more artwork and exclusive bits as time trudges on. Please show your support, join up, and share it with friends.
Also, to those people wanting to dive into the Hearts of Chaos module (like those getting it as DLC from preordering), I have created updated characters to replace those included in the module. You can find the file here.
The questions have already been rolling in regarding our rules. I will post the important ones as we go along.
Why does high level techan armor have multiple levels?
Good question. What this means is that the armor counts as multiple items. This is because it does more than just offer an AC bonus. If you buy the armor off the shelf, you can ignore these values. However, if you are making a character at a later level or if you find one and your group is determining who gets it and who doesn't, it's important to know how this armor relates to other items.
A good example are the power armors. The Apostle Motor slave is a 25/25/14. This means it is 2 level 25 items and a level 14 item. If you look at the description, you can see why. More than just AC, it offer you weapons, resistances, more hit points, amplified strength, etc. It's actually a steal. In the case of the Force Body Vest, it also offers a +1 bonus to Reflex and Fortitude, which is why it also counts as a level 1 item as well as a level 3.
What are techan starting currency?
Unchanged from Player's Handbook. 100 gp/cr for starting characters.
However, please not that you can get additional gear based on lifepath and/or if your group is signed with a specific group. Check out Organizations, as some offer major bonuses (like discounts off all level 1 equipment).
Are the EDF roll modifiers cumulative or not?
What that is SUPPOSED to mean is that the number of monsters does not affect the roll, only the number of types of monsters. So that means if there is ONE pagus in the group, the penalty is -1. If there are ten pagus, it is still -1. If there were fifty pagus, boggs, and puggs, it would still be -1.
Throw in a single dragon, and it goes to -2.
So taking the table into account, if you have four echan players in the party, the techan suffers a -4 to his roll. That is cumulative. However, the number of monsters does not affect the roll, only the number of types. That being said, I do invite GMs to ignore the first penalty (or keep the penalty only at -1) if they really want a mixed group. Like I told my players, I only roll if you are being stupid and flagrant with your mixing of technology and magic. My techan player in my echan group is paranoid enough and I through a couple threats his way, but I am not concerned about rolling every round. It's much more useful as a cinematic device.
Page 73, Distracting Shot. What does supressing cover mean?
By "Suppressing" cover, the target gains no benefit from any cover from you and all your allies.
Why do puggs have only 15 XP instead of 25 XP?
Because puggs are only good in large numbers. You should never fight just one pugg. Every pugg should be two, preferably more.
Does using a weapon as your totem operate the same as Using a Weapon as an Implement as stated in PLAYER'S HANDBOOK 3 and in the PLAYER'S HANDBOOK ERRATA?
Yes, in all respects except that you also gain the additional ability listed in the Amethyst Foundations book.
Can you use specialty weapons with class-chosen basic attacks?
Oh no. They can only be used with the PHB defined basic ranged attack.
â€œI despise stallions. I ride them as I ride an ugly noble women--smiles for appearances and politics only. Stallions. All personality with no depth. They prance like ponies and trot with arrogance. I always say, respect your mules most of all. A stallion may lead with the king and gather the eyes, but a mule will follow behindâ€¦and carry your kingdom.â€